Austin ranks near top on health and fitness survey

By: Andrew Robinson

Austin is ranked No. 10 out of 50 markets in a recent health and fitness survey.

The American College of Sports Medicine’s annual American Fitness Index ranked Minneapolis-St. Paul No. 1, followed by Washington, D.C., Boston, San Francisco and Hartford, Conn.

Austin ranks high for overall healthThe American Fitness Index data report reflects a composite of preventive health behaviors, levels of chronic disease conditions, health care access and community resources and policies that support physical activity, according to a news release.

Austin’s high ranking was attributed to a low rate of diabetes and heart disease, more acres of parkland, farmers’ markets and dog parks per capita and a higher level of state requirements for physical education classes.

The study said Austin can improve on the lower percent of those using public transportation to work and the low number of primary health care providers per capita.

About melissagriggswebb

My professional career has always had a focus on sales and marketing including a diverse mix of technology and media sales as well as fund raising and event planning experience. My passion for residential real estate and design led me back to Texas almost a decade ago at which time I acquired my real estate license. I escalated my real estate career when I partnered in a business with my husband, Robert, in which we renovate homes in the Central Austin area. We have a daughter who is the joy of our lives and keeps us on the go and on our toes! Besides my family, my interests include art, design, jogging and music. I am a member of the Austin Board of REALTORS®, the Texas Association of REALTORS®, the National Association of REALTORS® and Member of Who’s Who in Luxury Real Estate. My enthusiasm for the highly desired Austin lifestyle, in addition to my extensive knowledge, resourcefulness and professionalism, make me the one to call for properties in Austin.
This entry was posted in Austin's go to Real Estate Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

